»  Postuniversitar  »  Doctorate  »  SCHLUMBERGER WOMAN FELLOWSHIP, EU


calendar_month 22 Sep 2008, 00:00
Scholarship / Financial aid: available
Date: the 2008-2009 year
Deadline: November 30, 2008
Open to: see Eligibility

Announcement follows:
Women in science and technology

Faculty for the Future is a capacity-building initiative that develops women academics in the sciences so that they can become role models in their home countries through
* teaching
* research
* entrepreneurship
* public policy advocacy.
Building on our worldwide network of university relationships, this program provides funding for advanced graduate study. The long-term goal is to support role models and improve gender balance at the faculty level so that more young women are attracted to scientific disciplines.
Faculty for the Future fellows are expected to return to their home countries to continue their academic careers.
Application process
In 2007-2008 we received 180 applications—a new record—and we awarded 29 new grants and renewed 23 fellows who join our 95-strong community of Faculty for the Future fellows.
The 2008-2009 program will open on September 15 and close on November 30, 2008.
Women must meet the following criteria:
* are preparing for PhD or postdoctoral study in the physical sciences and related technologies
* have a proven track record demonstrating commitment to teaching
* demonstrate active participation in faculty life and outreach programs to encourage young women to study the sciences
* have a strong academic record, with teaching and research experience.
Faculty for the Future grants are based on actual expenses to be incurred and can be up to USD 50 000.
If you have a specific query, please contact the Faculty for the Future Coordination Team.
Related resources
-Examples of Typical Disciplines Awarded (39 KB PDF)
-Faculty for the Future Participant Facts and Figures (342 KB PDF)
-Faculty for the Future booklet (215 KB PDF)
-Faculty for the Future poster (160 KB PDF)
-New and renewed Faculty for the Future fellows, 2007-2008